Faculty of Medical Sciences was established in 1982 by admitting 65 M.Sc. students in different medical science disciplines. The first group of M.Sc. students graduated in 1985. Doctorate postgraduate courses started in 1988 by admitting 26 Ph.D. students in six fields of medical sciences including Biostatistics, Parasitology, Anatomy, Bacteriology, and Biochemistry According to the Islamic Republic of Irans plans for Development and promoting higher postgraduate Courses in the Country. The first group of Ph.D. students Were Graduated in 1993. Faculty of Medical Sciences, by having more than 1100 M.Sc. and about 100 Ph.D. graduates, in twenty different fields of Medical Sciences, has made a considerable contribution to educating and providing the academic staff required for higher education and research centers in the country. At the moment more than 200 M.Sc. and 100 Ph.D. students are studying at the Faculty of Medical Sciences who will join their expected higher education/research centers in the near future. This faculty admits about 100 M.Sc. and 100 Ph.D. students in twenty different fields of medical sciences every year. This faculty consists of 18 departments, each having qualified faculty members, and all the expertise, and research facilities and equipment required for carrying out the state-of-the-art research in various fields of Medical Sciences.